Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Cross Country Wins Fourth Straight Section Title to Qualify for State Championships

Cross Country Wins Fourth Straight Section Title to Qualify for State Championships

FOLSOM, Calif. – The St. Francis cross country team won its fourth consecutive Sac-Joaquin Section Division II title and qualified for the CIF State Cross Country Championships on Nov. 30.

"The team feels awesome," said senior Isabella Fauria. "We can't wait for state because we have been working really hard for it and feel like we can do something really amazing there. For Haley and I we won four section championships here and it feels like a big accomplishment."

Freshman Cate Joaquin was second overall in 18:26 to pace the Troubadours. Fauria crossed the line seventh in 19:34 a tick in front of senior Silva in 19:35. Freshman Daphne Witherell had her best finish on the team in 20:04 for 14th and sophomore Tatiana Cornejo was the fifth scorer in 20:20.

"Haley and I worked together during the race and giving each other encouragement," said Fauria. "We are going to learn from the race and put it all out at the state meet."

Junior Hanna Hekkanen was 20th overall (20:32) and sophomore Claire Silva was 21ast (20:34).

The Troubadours scored 48 points overall to take the team title ahead of Rio Americano (62) and Vita del Lago with 75 points in third. All three advance to the CIF State Championships.

Seniors Emma Hollenbach and Elizabeth Cole went 1-2 in the Junior Varsity race that featured teams from all five divisions to lead SF to the team title with 23 points over Davis. Senior Grace Harrison was fourth overall (21:40), Nicole McBride was seventh (21:56) and sophomore McKenna McKrell placed ninth (22:14). Junior Izabel Quackenbush crossed 11st (22:34) and Jill Heskett was 14th.

"This year has been amazing I am really emotional right now," said Hollenbach. "I am so glad to finish with so many amazing people."

The Frosh/Soph team opened the day with a win in the first race of the day led by Paige Quigley.

"It felt pretty good," said Quigley. "We all worked through the season as a team. We stuck together as a pack in the races and finished strong."

St. Francis became the ninth team in section history to win four straight team titles and fifth to do it at the Division I or II level.

"I am speechless," said Head Coach Aaron Rios. "It been a great experience. The girls worked hard all summer and this is what we have been building towards. It has been fun."

St. Francis will run in the Division 2 race at 8:30 a.m. on Nov. 30 at the State Championships.

Sac-Joaquin Section Division 2 Team Results

1. St. Francis 48; 2. Rio Americano 62; 3. Vista del Lago 75; 4. Whitney 91; 5. Vacaville 145; 6. Granite Bay 151; 7. Bella Vista 170; 8. Oakmont 206; 9. Lodi 223; 10. Pitman 225.

Sac-Joaquin Section Division 2 Individual Results

2. Cate Joaquin, 18:26; 7. Isabella Fauria, 19:34; 8. Haley Silva, 19:35; 14. Daphne Witherell, 20:04; 17. Tatiana Cornejo, 20:20; 20. Hanna Hekkanen, 20:32; 21. Claire Silva, 20:34.

Sac-Joaquin Section JV Division 1-5 Team Results

1. St. Francis 23; 2. Davis 45; 3. Woodcreek 103; 4. Pitman 126; 5. Whitney 137; 6. Bella Vista 156; 7. Nevada Union 184; 8. Atwater 187; 9. Will C. Wood 265.

Sac-Joaquin Section JV Division 1-5 Individual Results

1. Emma Hollenbach 21:02; 2. Elizabeth Cole, 21:19; 4. Grace Harrison, 21:40; 7. Nicole McBride 21:56; 9. McKenna McKrell, 22:14; 11. Izabel Quackenbush, 22:34; 14. Jill Heskett, 22:52.

Sac-Joaquin Section Frosh/Soph Division 2 Team Results

1. St. Francis 40; 2. Vista del Lago 71; 3. Bella Vista 73; 4. Whitney 83; 5. Vacaville 118; 6. Buhach Colony 133.

Sac-Joaquin Section Frosh/Soph Division 2 Individual Results

2. Paige Quigley, 13:57; 3. Peyton Carson, 13:59; 10 Abbie Rexroad, 18:11; 12. Allison Williams, 14:25; 13. Oliva Huerta, 14:25; 14. Anna Harrison 14:31; 16. Audrey Felsted, 14:39.

Consecutive Sac-Joaquin Section Titles

7              Davis (2002-09, I)

4              Rio Americano (1975-78)

4              Placer (1995-98, III-II)

4              Granite Bay (2000-03, II)

4              River Bank (2002-05, IV)

4              Eliot Christian (2002-05, V)

4              Bret Harte (2006-09, IV)

4              Bella Vista (2012- 15, I-II)

4              St. Francis (2016-Pres., II)

3              Bret Harte (1995-97, IV)

3              Bret Harte (99-01, IV)

3              Victory Christian (2009-11)